Thursday, February 6, 2014

Sex Offender Registration – The Basics

If you are convicted of committing a sexual offense in the state of Nevada, your sentencing may include mandatory registration as a sex offender. Being registered as a sex offender could drastically change your life, so if you are facing charges for a sex crime in Clark County, it’s important to understand the basics of the Nevada Sex Registry.

Who has to register as a sex offender?

Individuals convicted of sex crimes are categorized based upon the offenses they committed. The categories range from Tier 0 (no risk of reoffending) to Tier 3 (high risk of reoffending).
  • Tier 0: Tier 0 offenders are those who have been convicted of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sex crime, and their information is not publicly searchable on the online registry.
  • Tier 1: Tier 1 offenders are determined to have a low risk of reoffending and to pose little threat to public safety. Their registration information is not available to the public.
  • Tier 2: Tier 2 offenders are determined to have a probable risk of reoffending, and their information is publicly searchable on the online sex offender registry.
  • Tier 3: Tier 3 offenders are determined to present a significant threat to public safety and have a high risk of reoffending, so their information is available on the Nevada sex offender registry.

What information is available on the sex offender registry?

The registry includes various information about high-risk offenders, including:
  • Name and aliases
  • Home address
  • Photograph
  • Physical description
  • Employment address or school address
  • Tier Level information (only Tier 2 and Tier 3 offenders are publicly searchable)
  • Information about conviction, including description of crime, date of conviction, location of conviction, and statute violated

When and where do offenders register?

A convicted sex offender is required to register with their local law enforcement agency within 48 hours of being released from custody. If a registered offender moves, they are legally required to inform authorities of their change of address. Offenders are also required to complete and submit a verification form each year, regardless of whether or not their addresses have changed.

The length of time that an individual has to register as a sex offender will depend up their particular crimes and sentences. The judge can order an offender to register for however long they see fit, whether it be for 12 months, a few years, or their entire life.

What happens if an offender fails to register?

The failure to obey a court order to register as a sex offender is a Category D felony in the state of Nevada, punishable by:
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Incarceration in state prison for 1 to 4 years

If an offender fails to register twice within a 7 year period, they will be charged with a Category C felony, punishable by:
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Incarceration in state prison for 1 to 5 years
Mandatory sex offender registration is a serious penalty that can drastically impact a person’s life. If you are charged with a sex crime in the Las Vegas area, don’t hesitate to retain the strong defense of De Castroverde Law Group. Visit our website for more information.