Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Top Tips for Those Involved in a Road Rage Incident
Earlier this year in Las Vegas, a mother of four was shot and killed in a road rage incident gone horribly wrong. As discussed by Reuters, the 44-year-old was reportedly heading home after giving her 15-year-old daughter a driving lesson when the incident occurred. The dispute ended with an occupant of another vehicle firing 24 times toward the car after a chase through a neighborhood just miles from the Las Vegas Strip. The mother died two days later.
The driver and passenger, who police say fired the gun from the other vehicle, have been charged with murder, attempted murder, conspiracy to commit murder, and discharge of a firearm, according to the Las Vegas Review-Journal. Both men have pleaded not-guilty to the charges and are being held in Clark County jail without bail.
What constitutes road rage?
This is an extreme and tragic case of what people commonly call “road rage.” While we’ve all probably been involved in a heated moment behind the wheel, the repercussions can be costly. The state of Nevada defines aggressive driving as speeding by more than 10 mph, passing on the right, following too closely, failing to yield the right of way, changing lanes illegally, and “creating an immediate hazard for another vehicle or person.”
Penalties for aggressive driving, NRS 484.3765, are nothing to wave off either. Minimum penalties include a maximum fine of 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, and 30 day suspension of your license. Beyond this, though, are far steeper charges. In some cases, like the recent one out of Las Vegas, defendants can face serious criminal charges, including assault, harassment, and weapons offenses.
These offenses can end in much harsher penalties, including years in jail, thousands of dollars in penalties, and felony charges on the defendant’s record. Fleeing the scene of an incident such as this can also steepen penalties. In Nevada, state law (NRS 484E.010) dictates that motorists involved in a crash have to stop to swap information and help others involved if they are injured. Not doing so will result in a hit and run charge, which, at its worst, can result in anywhere from 2 to 15 years in prison.
What do I do if I’ve been charged in a road rage incident?
If you’ve found yourself in a situation where you’re facing aggressive driving or a similar criminal offense, be sure to enlist the help of an experienced Nevada criminal defense attorney. An advocate who knows the laws and knows how the court system operates, especially with regard to road rage and aggressive driving incidents, will provide you the best chance possible for a favorable outcome. Our lawyers at De Castroverde Law Group in Las Vegas have years of experience in knowledge with these cases to give you that chance. Contact De Castroverde Law Group today to start the conversation for a brighter future for you and your family.